Telegram Group vs Channel – What’s the Difference

telegram group channel

Telegram is a cloud-based mobile and desktop messaging app with a focus on security and speed. It quickly became one of the world’s most popular online messengers with 200 million active users per month.

Now Telegram allows not only chatting directly to each other, but also offers a wide range of features for business like channels, and group chats. Let’s see what is the difference between these two.

Telegram Groups

Telegram groups work best for those who want to have a conversation with their audience. They are ideal for sharing stuff with friends or collaboration in small teams. By default Telegram group can have up to 200 members.

Supergroups

If your group grows to a large community, you can upgrade it into a supergroup. This allows you to have up to 100,000 members. Here are a few key features that make groups very valuable:

  • Pinned messages. You can pin a chat message to be displayed at the top of the screen. All members will get a notification — even if they muted ordinary messages from your group.
  • Moderation tools. Appoint administrators that can mass-delete messages, control membership, and pin important messages. Define their admin privileges with granular precision.
  • Group link. You can get a short link for your group and make it public, like t.me/publictestgroup. This way, anybody can view the group’s entire chat history and join to post messages.

Telegram Channels

Unlike groups, channels can have an unlimited number of members. Telegram channels are created to broadcast messages to a large audience. In this case posts will be published on behalf of the channel for other to see. When you post in a channel, the message is signed with the channel’s name and not yours. Telegram App allows neither leaving comments on posts nor liking content you share.

If you would like to see an example, join the official Telegramchannel.

What can admin of the channeldo?

  • create publications
  • edit own publications during 48 hours since posting
  • delete own posts
  • delete channel members

If you want to schedule content to all your Telegram channels in advance  TelegramSend can save you a lot of time.

Public and private channels

You can choose to create public or private channel. Public channels have a username. Anyone can find them in Telegram search and easily join. Private channels are closed to the public – you need to be added by the creator or get an invite link to join.

Telegram warns that private channels with publicly available invite links will be treated in the same way as public channels.

You can find more information about channels in Telegram channels FAQ.

Main differences

To sum up, the main difference of Telegram groups and channel is they communication type.

When to choose channel?If you wan to broadcast information to your followers without interacting with the community.

When to choose group? Create group if you want to communicate, engage and hear back from your community.

Engage your Telegram community

Schedule messages to Telegram groups and channels

Learn more

Aure

Social Media practitioner, Life Hacker thinking lean. Loves to create digital things and enjoys startup environment.